International Alliance for Women in Music

Pauline Alderman Awards


Winners of the 2020 Pauline Alderman Awards 

The International Alliance for Women in Music is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Pauline Alderman Awards for Outstanding Scholarship on Women in Music. 


Book prize:
Christina L. Reitz

Jennifer Higdon: Composing in Color, Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 2018.



Article/book chapter prize:


Kendra Leonard

“Women at the Pedals: Female Cinema Musicians During the Great War.” In: Over Here, Over There: Transatlantic Conversations on the Music of World War I, ed. William Brooks, Christina Bashford, and Gayle Magee. University of Illinois Press, 2019.



Highly commended


Book-length submissions:


Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft

Analytical Essays on Music by Women ComposersSacred and Secular Music to 1900. Oxford University Press, 2018.



Lana Paćuka

Ženski identiteti u muzičkom životu austrougarskog Sarajeva[Female Identities in the Musical Life of Sarajevo during the Austro-Hungarian rule]. University of Sarajevo, 2020. 


Article-length submissions:


Samuel Dorf

“Performing Sappho’s Fractured Archive, or Listening for the Queer Sounds in the Life and Works of Natalie Clifford Barney.” In: Performing Antiquity: Ancient Greek Music and Dance from Paris to Delphi, 1890–1930, bySamuel Dorf. Oxford University Press, 2019.



Ascensión Mazuela-Anguita 

“The Contribution of the Requesens Noblewomen to the Soundscape of Sixteenth-Century Barcelona Through the Palau de la Comtessa.” In: Hearing the City in Early Modern Europe, ed. Tess Knighton and Ascensión Mazuela-Anguita. Brépols, 2018.



The Pauline Alderman Awards were founded in 1985 by the International Congress on Women in Music to honor the memory of pioneering musicologist Pauline Alderman, Ph.D. (1893-1983), founder and chair of the Music History Department of the University of Southern California. 

Every two or three years we call for scholars to submit their best work in the categories of Book, Article, or Reference work. Past winnersinclude some of the most distinguished scholars writing about women and music.